HONOLULU – On Wednesday, 74 senior military and civilian government leaders, from 37 countries throughout the region, graduated from the Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies “Advanced Security Cooperation Course.”  

In the Executive Course: Advanced Security Cooperation, students discussed national policy, and how the economic, diplomatic, political, cultural and military elements of power affect stability and security of the region as a whole. 

Countries represented at the six-week course were: American Samoa, Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Comoros, Guam, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kirabati, Laos, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.

The Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies is a Department of Defense regional study, conference and research center.  The center’s mission is to educate and develop leaders to advance strategic communications and security cooperation in the Asia-Pacific Region.

To date, the Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies has had more than 3,200+ representatives from 52 countries attend the College and has hosted or co-hosted conferences/seminars with nearly 7,200 participants from 73 countries.