Loading Events
This event has passed.

The Daniel K. Inouye Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies  is partnering with the Center for Advanced Defense Studies (C4ADS) to present a Take20-Maritime Series webinar (90-minutes).

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

  • Pakistan – 5:00 am
  • India/ Sri Lanka – 5:30  am
  • Indonesia –  7:00 am
  • Philippines/ Singapore – 8:00 am
  • Japan/ South Korea – 9:00 am
  • Australia/ Papua New Guinea – 11:00am

Monday, November 29, 2021
United States of America

  • EST – 7:00 pm
  • CST – 6:00 pm
  • MST – 5:00 pm
  • PST  – 4:00 pm
  • HST – 2:00 pm

The webinar will be livestreamed on Facebook at  facebook.com/DKIAPCSS

For other locations, please use this Time Converter

 Synopsis:  In this webinar C4ADS experts unravel a new and complex scheme named vessel identity laundering that some DPRK ships are using to create fraudulent ship registrations with the International Maritime Organization (IMO).  They will also explain how vessel identity laundering is a significant evolution from vessel identity tampering, and how this new tactic facilitates illegal activity (to avoid sanctions or engage in smuggling).  Law enforcement officers, analysts, and policymakers will benefit in particular from attending this maritime-centric webinar, because they will learn how loopholes in maritime regulations are being exploited by bad actors, as well as knowhow on how to detect and disrupt vessel identity laundering schemes.

 Speaker Report & Bio:

Please see below for the C4ADS report and speaker bios (see page 2 of the report):
Speaker Report & Bio Website