Federal Executive Board Honors APCSS Employees

On May 1, 2015, in Faculty, Staff, by APCSS Editor
APCSS Awardee Group Photo

The APCSS awardees pose for a group photo after the ceremony. From left to right is Cherrielynn Kamahele, Laureen Kukino, Cmdr. Alan Chase, Pedro Gutierrez, Deputy Director Jim Hirai, Robin Wong, Dean Carleton Cramer, Dick Sears and Lenore Patton.

Twenty-one Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies employees were recognized at the Honolulu-Pacific Federal Executive Board’s 59th Annual Excellence in Federal Government Awards Luncheon at the Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam Officer’s Club May 1.

The annual event honors employees from government agencies in Hawaii for their outstanding effort, dedication, and contributions to the workforce and community. Employees’ organizations nominated them for these honors.

APCSS award winners for 2014 were:

–  Team Excellence: College Operations: U.S. Navy Cmdr. Alan Chase, Dr. Lori Forman, U.S. Army Lt. Col. Ian Francis, Dr. Scott Hauger, U.S. Air Force Maj. Christopher Kuchma, Kerry Lynn Nankivell, Dr. Alfred Oehlers, Thomas Peterman, Dr. Alexander Vuving, Dr. Virginia Bacay-Watson, Dr. Mohan Malik, Dr. Saira Yamin, U.S. Navy Lt. Nicholas Matcheck, U.S. Army Lt. Col. Donald Peterson, Robin Burrell, and Florence Rapozo.

–  Federal Leader of the Year: Lenore Patton, chief, Regional Engagement Operations Department.

–  Federal Employee of the Year (Professional/Admin/Tech): Carolyn Orita, Administration Management Office.

–  Federal Employee of the Year (Clerical/Assistant): Larry Fryer, Human Resources Department.

–  Exceptional Community Service: Johnette Chun, Human Resources Department.

–  Mentor of the Year: Cherrielynn Kamahale, Regional Engagement Operations Department.

APCSS Director Lt. Gen. (Ret) Dan Leaf honored his staff’s hard work. “Our APCSS schedule is daunting, with courses and workshops flowing yearlong with little break between events. Our staff, however, has excelled in maximizing these opportunities to build and strengthen vital partnerships in the region. They’ve proven that a relatively small cohort of dedicated professionals can change the world.”


If you enjoyed this article, please share it!
Facebook Twitter Linkedin Delicious Stumbleupon Email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Currents Magazine

Currents Magazine Cover
Click here for Currents
DKI APCSS' official semi-annual magazine.

Faculty Spotlight

Photo of Dr. Saira Yamin
DKI APCSS' Featured Faculty is
Dr. Saira Yamin

Annual Report

Cover of the 2015 DKI APCSS Annual Report
DKI APCSS' Annual Report
for 2015
(1.62 mb)